Genuine Psychic Phone Home > Zodiac


Whether we admit it or not, we are all obsessed with the future. Since time immemorial people have been looking up to the stars to decipher what the future holds for them. Even today, there are various branches of astrology, like zodiac signs, tarot cards and palmistry that are extensively used to predict not just the future but also throw more light on us and our personality traits.

There are twelve zodiac signs. Your zodiac sign is determined by your date of birth as based on the Gregorian calendar.

So what is a zodiac sign?

It basically represents the constellation which governs your future and the future of others who share the zodiac sign. What this means is that people belonging to a particular zodiac sign possess similar character traits.

But what does a zodiac mean? Zodiac actually means a ‘circle of animals.’ The sun moves around the earth in a 360 degree ecliptic. The ancient people divided the ecliptic into 12 parts of 30 degrees each, with each part represented by an animal. So depending on which part the sun was in during your time of birth, the sun sign or zodiac sign is decided.

Besides the above 12 divisions, the signs are also classified into three groups, and here again, each group displays similar qualities. These three groups are: cardinal signs, fixed signs and mutable signs. Cardinal signs or the signs that represent great change and vitality comprise Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn. Fixed signs, on the other hand, represent stability and comprise the zodiac signs, Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. The mutable signs, Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces, represent adaptability.

Listed below are the 12 signs of zodiac along with the date of births.

Aries (21 March – 20 April)

This cardinal sign is ruled by the planet Mars and is also the first sign of the zodiac. The animal associated with this sign is the ram, and this accounts for the ram-headedness of the people. So Aries are strong-willed people, high on energy and very daring by nature. It is no surprise these people are really go-getters with a secret desire to control and conquer everything. However, they can be very vulnerable given that they are actually children at heart. Aries is a masculine sign and women born under this sign are usually very dominating. On the negative side, Arians are usually hot tempered, selfish and reckless. They are most compatible with Arians, Leos and Sagittarians and least compatible with Virgo and Scorpio.

Taurus (21 April – 21 May)

Taurus is a fixed sign represented by the bull and with Venus as its ruling planet. Given the fact that this is a fixed sign, people born under this star usually look for stability and security above everything else. They are also very single-minded in their approach and will stick to their goals and ideals at all costs. Taureans are simple and down to earth people and they don’t display pompousness or enjoy luxuriousness. On the flipside, they can be materialistic, inflexible and boring. Taureans are best compatible with Virgo, Capricorn and Taurus themselves. They are least compatible with Libra and Sagittarius.

Gemini (22 May – 21 June)

Born under a mutable sign, Geminis are very adaptable. People born under this sign are usually very intelligent, quick witted and funny. They are ruled by Mercury and are great fun to be with. They are most compatible with Libra, Aquarius and Gemini and least compatible with Scorpio and Capricorn.

Cancer (22 June – 23 July)

Being a cardinal sign, the people born under this zodiac are emotional, caring and generous. The ruling planet is the moon, and accordingly Cancerians are very peaceful and quiet. They are best compatible with Pisces, Scorpio and Cancer and least compatible with Sagittarius and Aquarius.

Leo (24 July – 23 August)

Leo is a fixed sign ruled by the planet sun so it is no surprise that people born under this sign are a bundle of energy. They are born leaders and are fiercely competitive. Leos are also seen as being very pompous, arrogant, argumentative and stubborn. They are best compatible with Aries, Sagittarius and Leo and least compatible with Pisces and Capricorn.

Virgo (24 August – 23 September)

Virgo is a mutable sign and people under this category tend to be perfectionists, intelligent, expressive and very forthright in their opinions. They also tend to be very humane and thoughtful to the needs of others. Virgos are best compatible with Taurus, Capricorn and Virgo and least compatible with Aries and Aquarius.

Libra (24 September – 23 October)

Libra, a cardinal sign, is represented by the scales, implying that people born under this zodiac show balance in all aspects of life. They are very social, have the gift of the gab and are also very good decision makers. On the flip side, they can be indecisive. They are best compatible with Gemini, Libra and Aquarius and least compatible with Pisces and Taurus.

Scorpio (24 October – 22 November)

Scorpio is a fixed sign, and people born under this star are sexy, exciting, driven and hard to get. It is better to remain in their good books as they might just unleash their sting on you. Scorpios can be madly jealous of others' success, vindictive and even sadistic. They are best compatible with Cancer, Pisces and Scorpio and least compatible with Aries and Gemini.

Sagittarius (23 November – 22 December)

A mutable sign, Sagittarius is the ninth house in the zodiac. The people born under this sign are confident, ambitious and daring. They are go-getters and experiment with different risks in order to gain what they really want. On the flip side, they can be gamblers and very extravagant. They are best compatible with Aries, Leo and Sagittarius and least compatible with Cancer and Taurus.

Capricorn (23 December – 20 January)

Capricorn is a cardinal sign and people under this category are both ambitious and cautious, and at the same time hardworking – the perfect recipe for successful people. On the flip side, they are unsure of their own abilities. They are best compatible with Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn and least compatible with Gemini and Leo.

Aquarius (21 January – 19 February)

Born under a cardinal sign, Aquarians are forward thinking and progressive people. They are always looking for change and are open to new learning. On the negative side, they tend to be rude and defiant. They are most compatible with Gemini, Aquarius and Libra and least compatible with Cancer and Virgo.

Pisces (20 February – 20 March)

Pisces is a mutable sign. The people born under this sign are dreamy and compassionate. Because of their compassionate nature they find it difficult to take hard decisions. They are intuitive rather than logical and tend to go by their gut feeling. They are most compatible with Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces and least compatible with Leo and Libra.


Take a look in more detail at each of the Zodiac Signs below:


For more about the Zodiac Signs visit Understanding Zodiac Signs.